top of page

LALO COMME MACOUTE

2022

Installation : clothing, acrylic, cotton, leather boots, wooden supports, vinyl.

 

Lalo comme macoute explores the creation of fictional and factual stories about the Haitian figure of the Fiyet Lalo (Fillettes Lalo, or Lalo Girls). During the Duvalier dictatorship, the Fiyet Lalo were militiawomen who functioned much like their male counterparts, the Tontons Macoutes. The Fiyet Lalo were a “security” force in Haiti from the 1950s until the late 1980s. The Fiyet Lalo and Tontons Macoutes were referred to as “Volontaires de la Sécurité Nationale” (VSN) or National Security Volunteers, which was the official name of this paramilitary body that worked for the supposed benefit of the country.

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (49 of 58) (1).jpg
GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (58 of 58).jpg
04msergile2022lalocommemacoute.jpg

Numerous stories and real incidents of violence are linked to the founding of this militia. In a common Haitian nursery rhyme, the Fiyet Lalo are described as child-eaters, and children are warned to stay away or else be killed. The most well-known Fiyet Lalo was/is Madam Max Adolphe, also known as Rosalie Bosquet, who disappeared after the Duvalier reign. Some report having seen her on a plane, or believe she is still hidden somewhere in Haiti, others believe she is dead.

Contrary to Western tradition, where the pillars of historical knowledge rest in archives and books, in Haiti history is mostly oral. Although it is sometimes archived by historians or passed on from one family to another, oral history is constantly subjected to doubt about the legitimacy of its sources and the veracity of discourses from different social classes.

In their book Fillette Lalo: Mythologie d’une figure Macoute, anthropologist Gerry L’Étang and poet and journalist Dominique Batraville examine the difference between the Tontons Macoutes, who are recognized internationally, and the Fiyet Lalo, who are almost unknown outside of Haiti. In an interview following the book’s publication, L’Étang talked about the status of these two entities within the oral tradition and national imagination of Haiti:

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (51 of 58).jpg

The fillette lalo is essentially a child-eater in Haitian oraliture. The tonton macoute is, in his pre-Duvalian definition, a kind of bogeyman. But although they are both detestable, they still differ slightly. The tonton macoute is an unnatural human, a perverted peasant who uses his macoute (a traditional bag) to trap children. The fillette lalo, on the other hand, has a more fictional origin. She is a nebulous notion. She is like a she-devil, a werewolf (in the Haitian sense of the term), an ogress[1].

The Fiyet Lalo were considered so heinous they couldn’t possibly be human like the Tontons Macoutes.  And although they played a key role alongside the Tontons Macoutes in the repression of the regime, they have been relegated to the status of mythical beings in the country’s collective memory.

Inspired by L’Étang and de Batraville’s book, this installation reflects on the history of these female soldiers who, since the 1960s, have become near-mythical figures. Comprised of garments resembling the uniform of the VSN, Lalo as Macoute transforms the SIGHTINGS cube into a space of analysis and reconstitution. Freed from the person who wears it, the uniform is suspended inside the cube by wires anchored to flagpoles in each corner. 

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (52 of 58).jpg

The project invites viewers to consider not only the little-known history of the Fiyet Lalo, but also the significance of combat clothing. Easily recognizable, the VSN’s uniform bore the colours of the country’s flag: a blue shirt and trousers (which was called “gwo bleu,” as in “gros bleu” or big blue) and a red bandana. Suspended in space, what does this uniform become without someone to wear it? And what does a person become without their uniform?

During the Duvalier dictatorship, wearing a VSN uniform was enough to justify committing certain crimes. At times, the VSN was said to be following the orders of François Duvalier (Papa Doc); in other instances, the soldiers’ punitive acts were said to be unauthorized. Over time their uniforms—originally an indicator of safety—became a “cover” for legitimized violence, but also of nation-wide recognition.

It is through this uniform that women like Rosalie Bosquet became known throughout Haiti. Although these clothes eventually gained a negative connotation, they were also a symbol of the Haitian president’s confidence and recognition, and as a result became a mark of prestige. To wear this uniform was to work for the most powerful person in the country and be recognized everywhere. And whether we be men, women, or other, that recognition is due.

Translated by Jo-Anne Balcaen

The artist wishes to thank Julia Eilers Smith, Michèle Thériault, Hugues Dugas and Samuel Garrigo Meza of the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Yan Giguère and Peter King of the Atelier Clark, as well as her family members who continually contribute to her practice, Miguel Sergile, Wilnie Brézault, Richard Étienne, Benny Étienne, Ji Hee Shin Étienne and Benjamin Étienne.

© Installation view of Sightings 34: Lalo comme macoute, a project by Michaëlle Sergile. With
courtesy of Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Concordia University, Montreal. Photo: Jean-Michael Seminaro:
Jean-Michael Seminaro.

bottom of page

LALO COMME MACOUTE

2022

Installation sculpturale : vêtements, acrylique, coton, bottes de cuir, supports en bois, vinyle.

 

Lalo comme macoute explore la création d’histoires fictives et réelles autour de la figure haïtienne des Fiyet Lalo (Fillettes Lalo). À l’époque de la dictature des Duvalier, les Fiyet Lalo étaient des miliciennes, au même titre que leurs homologues masculins que l’on nommait les Tontons Macoutes. Elles assuraient la « sécurité » en Haïti de la fin des années 1950 à la fin des années 1980. On appelait les Fiyet Lalo et les Tontons Macoutes des « Volontaires de la Sécurité Nationale » (VSN) – qui était la dénomination officielle de ce corps paramilitaire qui travaillait présumément pour le bien du pays.

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (49 of 58) (1).jpg
GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (58 of 58).jpg
04msergile2022lalocommemacoute.jpg

Bien des histoires et des cas réels de violence sont rattachés à la création de cette milice. Une comptine pour enfant raconte que les Fiyet Lalo étaient des mangeuses d’enfants et qu’il fallait absolument les éviter pour rester en vie. La figure la plus connue d’entre toutes était/est Madam Max Adolphe, de son vrai nom Rosalie Bosquet. Après le règne des Duvalier elle disparut. Certain·ne·s disent l’avoir vue dans un avion, d’autres évoquent qu’elle serait encore en Haïti, cachée quelque part, tandis que d’autres assument son décès.

À la différence de la tradition occidentale où les piliers du savoir historique reposent sur les archives et les ouvrages, en Haïti l’Histoire est en bonne partie orale. Parfois archivée par des historien·ne·s ou transmise d’une famille à une autre, l’histoire orale est constamment soumise à un questionnement quant à la légitimité de ses sources et à la véracité des discours provenant des différentes classes sociales.

Dans leur ouvrage Fillette Lalo : Mythologie d’une figure macoute, l’anthropologue Gerry L’Étang et le poète et journaliste Dominique Batraville se sont intéressés à la différence entre les Tontons Macoutes, bien connus à l’international, et les Fiyet Lalo, plutôt connues au sein du pays. Dans une entrevue suivant la parution du livre, L’Étang nous renseigne sur le statut de ces deux personnages dans la tradition orale et l’imaginaire national :

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (51 of 58).jpg

La fillette lalo est à l’origine une dévoreuse d’enfants dans l’oraliture haïtienne. Le tonton macoute, lui, est dans sa signification pré-duvaliériste, une sorte de croquemitaine. Mais si les deux personnages ont en commun d’être détestables, ils ne sont pas tout à fait équivalents. Le tonton macoute est un humain dénaturé, un paysan perverti qui utilise son macoute (sac traditionnel) pour piéger les enfants. La fillette lalo a en revanche une base plus irréelle. C’est en fait une nébuleuse notionnelle. Elle tient de la diablesse, du loup-garou (au sens haïtien du terme), de l’ogresse[1].

Les Fiyet Lalo étaient perçues comme des êtres si horribles qu’elles ne pouvaient pas être humaines comme les Tontons Macoutes. Même si elles ont joué un rôle clé, aux côtés des Tontons Macoutes, dans la répression du régime, elles ont été reléguées au statut d’êtres mythiques dans la mémoire collective.

M’inspirant de l’ouvrage de L’Étang et de Batraville, je propose une réflexion sur ces femmes soldats qui devinrent, à partir des années soixante, ces figures presque mythiques. Composée de pièces de vêtements rappelant l’habit des VSN, l’installation Lalo comme Macoute transforme le cube SIGHTINGS en un espace d’analyse et de reconstitution. L’uniforme, ici dépouillé de son porteur, est maintenu en suspension dans le cube par des fils rattachés à des hampes de drapeau érigées aux quatre coins.

 

GalerieLeonardBinaEllenFevrier2022HiRes (52 of 58).jpg

Le projet invite à se pencher non seulement sur l’histoire peu connue des Fiyet Lalo, mais également sur la signification d’un vêtement de combat. Facilement reconnaissable, l’habit que portait les VSN reprenait les couleurs du drapeau du pays, soit le bleu pour la chemise et le pantalon des soldats (qu’on appelait « gwo bleu » – gros bleu) et le rouge de leurs écharpes. Que devient ce vêtement, flottant dans le vide, sans la personne qui le revêt ? Et que devient la personne sans son vêtement ?

C’est en arborant l’habit que les crimes de l’époque ont pu être justifiés. Par moments, dira-t-on, les VSN agissaient sur ordre de Duvalier père (Papa Doc) ; par d’autres, on entendra dire que les soldats se lançaient dans des actes punitifs sans autorisation. Ces vêtements, s’ils se voulaient à la base un indicateur de sécurité, se sont transformés avec le temps en une « couverture » servant à légitimer la violence, mais aussi la reconnaissance au sein du pays.

C’est d’ailleurs par ces habits que des femmes comme Rosalie Bosquet furent connues dans l’ensemble du pays. Bien que ces vêtements finirent par avoir une connotation négative, ils représentaient également un symbole de confiance et de reconnaissance du président haïtien et de ce fait même sont devenus un symbole de prestige. Porter cette tenue signifiait travailler pour la personne la plus haut placée du pays et être reconnu·e où que l’on aille. Une reconnaissance qui, que l’on soit homme, femme ou autre, nous est due.

L’artiste tient à remercier Julia Eilers Smith, Michèle Thériault, Hugues Dugas et Samuel Garrigo Meza de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Yan Giguère et Peter King de l’Atelier Clark, ainsi que les membres de sa famille qui contribuent continuellement à sa pratique, Miguel Sergile, Wilnie Brézault, Richard Étienne, Benny Étienne, Ji Hee Shin Étienne et Benjamin Étienne.

© Vue d’installation de Sightings 34: Lalo comme macoute, un projet de Michaëlle Sergile. Avec
l’aimable concours de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Université Concordia, Montréal. Photo:
Jean-Michael Seminaro.